I Fear…

I fear the man in blue,
walking towards my door.

I fear the man whose black,
that I’ve never seen before.

The TV shows the violence,
The stereotypes fill my head,
Will this encounter,
End up with me dead?

I fear any resistence,
Will cost me my head.

I fear any weakness,
will have me shot instead.

The TV shows the violence,
The stereotypes fill my head,
Will this encounter,
End up with me dead?

I fear the words,
that I must lawfully say.

I fear the action,
that I must now outlay.

The TV shows the violence,
The stereotypes fill my head,
Will this encounter,
End up with me dead?

The gun is drawn,
Panic spawns,
Now a man is dead.

 

Inspired by the events in connection with the deaths of Alton Sterling (7/5/2016), Philando Castile (7/6/2016), and the 5 Police Officers shot in the Dallas Shooting (7/6/2016), in particular the video released by Mr. Castile’s finance after the shooting.

Leave a Reply

