#PhotoPromptFriday: Peter Paul Rubens

729px-Peter_Paul_Rubens_-_Cimon_and_Pero_(Roman_Charity)_-_WGA20420

Peter Paul Rubens is the famous artist behind the word “Rebunesque”, which is often used to describe a person’s form as “plump or rounded usually in a pleasing or attractive way” (Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary). The above painting is one of his trademark portrayals of a woman’s figure, but that’s not why I chose this painting as today’s #PhotoPromptFriday.

For me, this picture is interesting because the man in the picture is an old man in shackles, and the two of them seem to be in a prison. It turns the initial impression of lewdness into a hidden story that I want to know.

Now, I did look up the story to this painting, which I will reveal next Friday with the winner of this painting’s #PhotoPromptFriday, and it’s a pretty cool one that eliminates all thought of naughtiness. I want you to come up with a story that explains the scene portrayed in this painting. Submit it via my #PhotoPromptFriday page, and you could be featured on my blog as the #PhotoPromptFriday winner of the week!

Leave a Reply

